Hunting/self sufficiency

High Plains Biker

Hunting/self sufficiency

Post by High Plains Biker » Fri Jul 26, 2024 1:58 pm

I was curious if you guys are into hunting. I'm almost 53. I had wanted to hunt all my life. I grew up in NW CT and as a kid I always wanted to hunt deer, but my dad had no interest. The closest I ever got was a 2 evening hunting safety course in 9th grade.

Fast forward to about 2019 or so, I live in WY... One day I'm like, bam, I'm going to go hunting! So here I am, total noob just binge watching anything I can on hunting antelope and field dressing. Veterans here in WY get somewhat of a preference and since we're mostly familiar with firearms can waive any requirement for a hunter's safety class.

I got my tag, and 10/13/2020 bagged my first antelope. I shot this boy in the heart from about 250 or so yards. He just dropped like a stone. Shot with a 1936 Turkish Mauser in 6.5x55 Swede, which was gifted to me by a friend.

10/2021 I got another on Columbus Day. My wife was with me and it really makes field dressing fast when you have help believe me. I shot the 2nd with my 270 Winchester from like 100 feet. He was just laying in a field relaxing and chewing on some grass.

10/2022 I chased one particular buck around what was essentially a 4 mile circle. I didn't allow myself to relax enough when I took my shot and the bullet went right underneath him, he and the rest of his little herd spooked and jumped the fence from public land onto private, so I couldn't chase.