Do I look like Lord Helmet to you?

The Conservative

Do I look like Lord Helmet to you?

Post by The Conservative » Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:38 pm

Seriously, do people not take passwords seriously?

I've been doing IT since 1996, I got some stories that people think are meme's only... they aren't. In many cases they really happened to us.

Anywho, here is my story.

Here I am taking in a laptop because it is having issues with Outlook (nothing new in my environment) The engineers constantly try to fix things, well, let's just say Bethesda has a better record of successfully patching anything.

I try the standard, check AD make sure they aren't locked out, go through the keychains and delete, then add back, etc... no prevail.

I need to test a few things in the admin side to see if it's a user issue or a computer wide issue (OS, etc), so I ask for their login password because well, I don't want to keep them here, since they have a meeting to go to.

The user gives me their password. Test1234&
I've also had people tell me:
  • Today1234
  • Yesterday1234
  • Monday1234 (And every day of the week otherwise noted)
  • August1234 (Or any other month)
  • Password1234
These people are DEVELOPERS, and DATABASE ENGINEERS! WTF people!

They are getting paid normally close to or more than I am, and they have a password my son can crack and he's 4...

We don't give them these passwords, we give them a temporary password which is made by a random password generator... These people make their passwords this...

I give them a booklet upon the welcome aboard from the IT, and it specially says what to do and what not to do, and the one thing it says what not to do is to use any password that is easily guessed.

I really am too old for this crap.
#NotOneRedCent

Speaker to Animals

Re: Do I look like Lord Helmet to you?

Post by Speaker to Animals » Tue Aug 06, 2019 4:40 pm

ITDidn'tCutRealEngineeringCoursework123

That's the best password right there.

The Conservative