Why Mass Transit?

Martin Hash

Why Mass Transit?

Post by Martin Hash » Thu Jul 08, 2010 10:09 pm

Greens and Democrats take it for granted that the environment will somehow be improved if people travel in large groups, but I want to examine that premise...

In America, liberty guarantees individual freedom. By definition, a “liberal” believes in maximum individual freedom, and that certainly includes freedom of movement. In fact, the U.S. Constitution guarantees the freedom of movement as a fundamental right. Anything that impinges on that freedom must face judicial examination to ensure that some other, more important, right indeed takes precedence, but it is a difficult test, and not lightly considered. A vague, unarticulated desire to “improve the environment” probably does not supersede a constitutionally guaranteed fundamental right.

If we are to debate the value of mass transit then we must clearly state what the goal is. As an engineer, I am willing to debate various methods of conserving energy – none of which involve mass transit; or if the goal is a social desire to make people travel together, or remain ensconced in their homes, that argument seems weak in the extreme; and if the intent is to limit roadways because they negatively impact the environment - that is certainly a selfish interest by the environmentalists at the expense of everyone else.

So, I ask the question, “Why mass transit?” Unfortunately, no one else is asking, because if they were, engineers would have plenty of solutions.
Shamedia, Shamdemic, Shamucation, Shamlection, Shamconomy & Shamate Change

Tad Winiecki

Re: Why Mass Transit?

Post by Tad Winiecki » Wed Aug 04, 2010 10:58 am